Fog Creek Software
Discussion Board

don't wanna ?

Friends,

In your opinion, is it OK to just say "don't wanna" when you are given a task by your boss / proj. leader ?

To put things into perspective - I am a developer / maintainer. Recently, I've been given a task that suits a sysadmin, and I neither am good at it or have any sympathy for it. I literally suffer when I work on this task - and my productivity is in accordance. So, is it OK / acceptable to just say "I don't want to do it" ?

P.S.: I realize that "Yes" will be a frequent answer. I'd like some details, and especially motivation though,

Thanks in advance

ddv
Thursday, June 12, 2003

Is this really a serious question?

In case it is, it's perfectly ok to say "I don't wanna".

Is it ok for your project leader not to give you a raise next review period?

DingBat
Thursday, June 12, 2003

Do read Melville's "Bartleby, the Scrivener" first.

Joel Spolsky
Thursday, June 12, 2003

Ideas:

1. "So-and-so knows that better than I do.  Maybe he would be a better fit?"

2. "So-and-so is eager for something technical to do.  Maybe they would like a challenge?"

3. "My current project(s) are cruicial to the company.  This side task will delay their completion."

4. Postpone and procrastinate until it goes away or gets reassigned.  This works in more cases than people think.

5.  Fake incompetence.

6.  Request clarification that this is a temporary job duty.  (not that this really means anything).

7.  Do the task, but bitch about it.

8.  Cop a 1999 and say "don't wanna; oh and by the way, my department wants a raise and an indoor badmitton court installed on premisis".

9.  Yes sir.  Right away sir.  Did you say jump?  I'm already in the air, sir.

If you've been at your job a couple years and people like you, #1-8 could work, otherwise it's #9.

Bill Carlson
Thursday, June 12, 2003

> I realize that "Yes" will be a frequent answer. I'd like some details, and especially motivation though, <