Fog Creek Software
Discussion Board

Hungarian Notation

With C++ I make it a point to in fot Hungarian Notation. Just makes reading the code a little easier.

Arethier any norms for VB. I recently started on VB.Net, so I want to get into a habit right away. Has anybody set some rules for themselves?

Gunjan Sinha
Thursday, June 12, 2003

Hungarian notation is falling off in popularity among the .NET crowd. Somewhere on MSDN, MS has published their opinion of good naming conventions.

Mark Hoffman
Thursday, June 12, 2003

i used to code with type notation untill i started programming  those loosed typed languages like perl, php etc. for me, type notation in those languages is a limitation.

abel
Thursday, June 12, 2003

It's a mix of mainly Pascal (LikeThis) and some Camel (likeThis).

You can find it under "Design Guidelines for Class Library Developers" in the MSDN library.

Personally, I prefer it to Hungarian. I also tend to use the universal type names of the FCL in C# (Int32 rather than int), but that's another discussion.

Pietro
Thursday, June 12, 2003

Personally I'm still a big fan of Hungarian, it's ESPECIALLY important in untyped languages, and we even use it in SQL code which I've found very, very valuable.

Joel Spolsky
Thursday, June 12, 2003

I was a huge Hungarian advocate, but something about .Net just makes it seem like a waste of time. Actually, I just realized that .Net *does* follow some of the later hungarian recommendations - over the last few years most standards I read indicated that class variables didn't need a prefix (since adding a "c" doesn't really do anything).

Well, since everything in .Net is a class... [grin]

However, I *do* prefix controls on webforms, since it makes them easier to find in intellisense.

Philo

Philo
Thursday, June 12, 2003

> Personally I'm still a big fan of Hungarian, it's ESPECIALLY
> important in untyped languages, and we even use it in
> SQL code which I've found very, very valuable.