Fog Creek Software
Discussion Board

Would you move?

I'm a 24 y/o sw developer.
I worked 3 years before the new economy colapsed.
After 6 months of unemployment, I found a job at an ultra stable company that holds the monopoly of it's business here in my country. The company is rock solid and extremely wealthy.
The only problem is, I was hired as a programmer and for the past 12 months I havent done much. They have a lot of money, they thought they needed a developer and so they hired me.
As you might imagine, I'm bored to death and completelly demotivated.

Now suddenly comes another job. An old friend of mine, and arguably the best boss I ever had invited me to work in his company. We'll be doing web and SMS development. This is obviously an much smaller company and the work will be much riskier.

What would you do? Stay in the stable and gray company or go to a lightweight, ultrafast company, but much more unstable?
I know the ultimate decision is up to me, but any anwer would be welcome.

RP
Wednesday, June 11, 2003

Can you afford it? Personally, I don't place money as the highest priority. If I have the money to to it, if i'm not desperate, I'd take the move.

Do you really think you won't hate you job next week, too?

My previous job was easy, flexible, stress-free, and paid well. And I couldn't wait to be done with it. I left, and haven't looked back.

On the other hand, I don't have to worry about a family, or car payments, and such. If I had kids to raise, I'd make damned sure they'd be fine first.

Decide and clearly state your priorities. Then enforce them.

Mike Swieton
Wednesday, June 11, 2003

No car, no house, no wife, no kids, no nothing. Still living with the parents.

RP
Wednesday, June 11, 2003

I can't attribute it but; 'You've already decided so get on with it and don't look back.'

B#
Wednesday, June 11, 2003

Then go. be sure to save your pennies for a rainy day rather than buy every PS2 game in existance though.

www.MarkTAW.com