Fog Creek Software
Discussion Board

Microsoft has purchased a major Romanian software

I am a software developer in Romania, East Europe.

The news I heard today made me very proud - so I am reproducing them here:

Microsoft has purchased the RAV antivirus from the GeCAD company, for an undisclosed sum which is estimated between 10 - 20 million dollars.

GeCAD is a Romanian company, and the RAV antivirus is completely designed and made in Romania.

Microsoft has bought the whole RAV division. As far as I know, most of the Romanian engineers who worked on RAV are now hired by Microsoft.

A link to more information is: http://www.rav.ro/pages/shownews.php?i=153

Romanian programmers ROCK!

John K.
Wednesday, June 11, 2003

So what? You want a medal? ;-) Actually when I was a trainer I delivered a VB course (up in Cluj-Napoca I think) and was impressed at how bright the attendees were -- brighter than the average London financial industry developer anyway.

Duncan Smart
Wednesday, June 11, 2003

Cluj Napoca-- you mean Kolozsvár?

Martha
Wednesday, June 11, 2003

I have no idea what you are talking about.

It's Cluj-Napoca, a city in Romania, inhabited mainly by Romanian people.

XTG
Wednesday, June 11, 2003

Yeah, ghee thanks!  You Romanian hackers write code that works so well, that keeps our networks free of so many virii, and ultimately makes my job that much easier that Microsoft buys you up and we can't use your software anymore.  Thanks. ;-)

Andrew Burton
Wednesday, June 11, 2003

> So what? You want a medal? ;-)

No. I want the Romanian programmers to gain recognition as excellent programmers. Which they really are.

John K.
Wednesday, June 11, 2003

Cluj Napoca (romanian) = Kolozsvár (hungarian)

The same city but hungarian (a major ethnic group in Romania) name.

Szász Attila
Thursday, June 12, 2003

Oh, and if we want the recognition, we should prove ourselfs. Respect should be earned, not demanded.

Szász Attila
Thursday, June 12, 2003