Fog Creek Software
Discussion Board

Database table/design problem

I have a database program that I use to manage and keep track of clients including properties that I have inspected (I am also a building inspector/consultant) over the years. As of this time, I am hoping to eliminate my current NCR field forms by implementing additional tables and form views in my database program to allow me to collect and enter data while in the field using a tablet PC. As of this time, the problem is not one of creating a table or form view to enter my observations relative to each system but rather one of creating a table or tables to enter general information specific to each system. For example, given ten hypothetical systems, the number of general info fields required for a particular system varies from two to ten and remains static for each property inspected. If I elect to use one table for this purpose (to enter general info), the database will always contain or generate a number of fields with no values. Furthermore, this only serves to add more empty fields or space as the database grows larger for subsequent properties inspected. On the other hand, I could create a separate table for each of the ten systems. In this way, one only needs to add the necessary fields for each system in which event there are no blank values/fields in the database. The 'Observations' table mentioned above then becomes a detail table for each of the System's general info tables in the database. I have a third option, but for sake of brevity, I've decided to forego the explanation at this time. Any comments or suggestions regarding this subject matter from those experienced in database design are most appreciated.

Thank you,
Marty Potokar

Marty Potokar
Tuesday, June 10, 2003

Data modelling - i personally love it, but it can be difficult to know just how far to go when normalising a system

Ive tried to interpret your requirements and came up with something like