Fog Creek Software
Discussion Board

Angry Coder on VB inferiority Complex

http://www.angrycoder.com/blog/entries/20030605.html

I have seen some of the same sentiment.  What do you guys think

Phil
Monday, June 09, 2003

It didn't take a whole lot of brains to make that prediction. While Jonathan has an ego the size of Texas, his mental masturbation over the future of C# didn't produce any real insights.

So a language that looks like C++ and Java is taken more seriously than something called "Visual Basic"? Well no kidding, Sherlock.

Mark Hoffman
Monday, June 09, 2003

I think it's pretty dumb, but then I've given up on making sense out of programmers.

I used to be a c programmer, then I moved to perl.  Started using VB6 when I moved to a windows shop and haven't looked back since.  Now that .NET has regular expressions, I don't even miss perl anymore.

Monday, June 09, 2003

oh, and I like vb.net for some of the same reasons.  Less typing, no case sensitivity.

Monday, June 09, 2003

I've never worked in a shop where VB was put to heavy use, but knowing other programmers and knowing the perception of VB, I'd say his reasoning is probably dead-on.  Prejudice at its finest, but them's the apples we're dealt.

Crimson
Monday, June 09, 2003

How long until the first VB.NET->C# code convertor shows up? Or has one already?

You can kind of already do this simply by compiling the VB.NET to MSIL and then use one of the .NET decompilers that outputs C# code....  If you combined this with a simple source parser that would be used to discover the 'true' names of local variables, the results would probably be pretty damn good, I'd bet.

Of course, one shouldn't have to do this, but given a situation like the one he describes where the customer has an anti-VB bias against code that's already been written, it might be a decent solution.

Mister Fancypants
Monday, June 09, 2003