Fog Creek Software
Discussion Board

Applying One theory in many different areas

I am a recent CS graduate as some may remember me from my last post.  As I wanted to broaden my knowledge in CS, I took maximum allowable senior courses.  However, one thing I truly learned, is that there are so many overlapping concepts, it seems to be possible to unify everything to just a handful of theories.  And most are related to some graph theories, in one way or another. 

Example, not long after I learned about garbage collection in the compiler class and how it is done, I subsequently learned the same thing in the distributed system class.  Though they are essentially the same, the “data” in each is different; one is for memory and the other is for names in database.  It is obvious enough, some if not most, in the distributed class would have quickly recognized the same theory can apply in cleaning up memory, even if they have never taken a compiler class.  (Note, I would have been happier, if the prof mentioned about other application, but she didn’t)

Anyway, I’m wondering if there is a book that talks about how a theory is being applied in different areas of CS.  Or better yet, a theory from totally different field (ie, Education) can be applied in CS.

MR
Thursday, June 05, 2003

I think you have hit upon what I think of as "the secret of life" -- everything is essentially the same pattern. I am not too well-versed in Computer Science, but off the top of my head, I think "Goedel, Echer, Bach" by Hofstadter shows this in action.
However, I have also come up with my own corrollary to this "everything is the same" theory:

Detailed Theory                    Vague Theory
<-------------------------------------------------->
Narrow Application              Wide Application