Fog Creek Software
Discussion Board

The OO programming benefit no one talks about

Hi,

I'm very new to OOP. I've programmed in VB 3 and 6. 

The way OOP has always been explained to me, the benefit is that you reuse code, so you save time by not needing to rewrite THAT code.  However, I think that's BACKWARDS...

I've now found that the OPPOSITE is true. The benefit of OOP is reusing all of the NON OBJECT CODE.

HERE'S WHY...
Suppose we have a program composed of Non-object code and some Objects. Now, lets say the Objects are 20% of the code in our program.

Now, lets say we write 10 more programs of equal length. If we reuse all our objects, we save about 20% of the coding.

This is how I've always seen OOP benefits explained. You reuse the object and save code. HOWEVER, after reading Design Patterns Explained (by Shalloway/Trott) it seems that the REVERSE is true...

The real benefit of OOP *seems* to be that if we can reuse the non-object code to create a new program by CHANGING THE OBJECT, then we save 80%, not 20%.

As the authors explain:  you encapsulate what CHANGES into an object.

I realize there are lots of other benefits of OOP.  However, I'm a pragamatist.  I've always looked for a compelling benefit of OOP or a single programmer. I think this is it.

QUESTIONS:

1.  Am I on the right track?
1a.  Am I hearing OOP proponents (OOPPs?) correctly when they state the benefit is reusing the obj code?

2.  Is the benefit of reusing the non-obj code really a much bigger advantage than the oft' touted reuse of the obj code?

3.  Am I being insightful here, or obvious (or obviously stupid? if so, why).

The example below is from a real program I wrote using the above methodology, although I didn't realize it was an OOP approach.

I always thought that the benefit of OOP was to create an object which is reused.
HOWEVER, I'm reading Design Patterns Explained by Shalloway/Trott.  It suggests that it's sort of the OPPOSITE. Let me explain.