Fog Creek Software
Discussion Board

Shrink-wrap developers: what programming language?

Hi,

I'm a shrink wrap programmer.  I develop, market, and sell software for speech therapy, primarily for older adults.  Think of it as geriatric educational software.

ANYWAY... our 16 programs were writtin in vb 3 and it's time for a rewrite. 

I'm considering:
* VB 6  : I already know it, it's a known, stable quantity.
*Delphi : a graceful language with no runtime required, but there's a learning curve, and it's a *little* harder than VB.
* VB.net  : unproven, large (20MB .net framework req'd), only supports win 98 and above and requires I.E. 5).

OUR PROGRAMS are fairly simple.  We don't need a fast compliled language and we don't do much fancy stuff.  We can (I think) make good use of inheritance and other OO capabilities in Delphi and VB.net.)
Our programs are about 20,000 lines a piece, but there is a lot of reused code (even more if we use OO, I think).

ANY THOUGHTS?
WHAT LANUAGES ARE OTHER SHRINK WRAP DEVELOPERS USING?

-Clay

Clay Nichols
Monday, June 02, 2003

What's your timeframe?
If you need it done fairly quickly, go with what you know: VB6.

If you have the time, go with C#.

Reasons:
1) You're building a marketable skill.

2) C# seems to be successfully riding the C/C++ wave, earning buy-in from the "C snobs" (esp. those that don't know either C or C++). VB always has been, and always will be, perceived as a "toy language" - one step above "written in Excel macros"
For the record, I'm a VB programmer, and I know how powerful the language can be. But in general "the masses" think anyone can pick up a book and write VB applications...