Fog Creek Software
Discussion Board

What do you think about users groups?

I have been programming (out of school) for about 5 years.  Three of those years have been in a small shop (I am the only developer).  I would like to network face to face with other developers.  I feel like I am behind the curve because of a severe lack of mentoring and/or communication.

What have been your experiences with Ugs?

shiggins
Thursday, May 29, 2003

If you can find a good, active one, they're a lot of fun.

They're a lot like IRC or USENET, only you have to be polite.

Jorgenson
Thursday, May 29, 2003

Polite? That's a lot work!! :-)

Li-fan Chen
Thursday, May 29, 2003

Where I live users groups for particular tools are always lame & held in low regard.  Don't know why this should have to be the case, wish it wasn't, but I'm just reporting reality.  OTOH one of the best seminars I've ever attended was under the auspices of a self described 'user group' called CAMUG: http://can.cpsc.ucalgary.ca/camug.  Still the audience pretty much kept to themselves afterwards.

John Aitken
Thursday, May 29, 2003

www.meetup.com

I heard about them from a posting on this site...  been to two meetup's so far (both very good) and I'll probably go to next one as well.

Wayne Venables
Thursday, May 29, 2003

I was thinking of using Meetup for my little IMAX Matrix get together... but I didn't see the need for a monthly thing. So I just created a post in my forum and told people about it.

2600 has been doing this for ages before Meetup existed, but if you can find an existing Meetup, then it's easy to just hook into it.

PMI (the Project Management Institute) had monthly breakfast meetings, but I always found 8am way too early for me. Is there anything like the PMI for programmers?

You might be interested in the Kuro5hin.org meetup: http://kuro5hin.meetup.com/

www.MarkTAW.com
Thursday, May 29, 2003

My experiences have ranged from very good to nothing special.