Fog Creek Software
Discussion Board

Disclosure

I would like to see what the general opinion is on the topic of disclosure about your programming work.  Here is a situation I encountered a few weeks ago.

I'm an independent contractor currently working on a desktop Java application. I am the only person working on it. For the most part, the requirements and design of this app were done well, so I had a really good idea about what the app needed to do. It wasn't designed down to the absolute lowest level (it didn't need to be) before I began implementing it. During implementation, I encountered situations that were not covered explicitly in the design. Happens to everyone.

In many cases, the behavior was obvious. But in some cases, it was not. I'd ask around for opinions from the other employees, but sometimes these issues were so obscure, it was hard to get feedback.

So, as an experienced professional, I made a reasonable implementation choice and documented the issue, the solution, and the implications of this solution, if any. Often these issues had to do with memory vs. performance, or deviating from the specs or not.

The project was wrapping up, and I wrote a "release notes" document that went into excruciating detail about these issues. Then I held a meeting to go over these things to see if anyone wanted changes to the ways I'd chosen. They suggested some changes, no big deal.

But, during the meeting, I kept getting a feeling that my clients were judging my work badly because I was pointing out all of the "questionable points" about what I implemented. Since I was only talking about these areas, it might have seemed like my code was fraught with problems. Well, no, it was only specific parts.