Fog Creek Software
Discussion Board

advice on expanding my skillset...

Hi guys,

I have been a web developer since 1997, and now like so many I find myself looking for work (I'm in the UK BTW).  I've always used raw HTML & ASP, plus SQL Server / MS Access for databases on sites, but not had much opportunity to expand out beyond that.

Anyway, most of the jobs I see listed now seem to be asking for some VB experience which I don't have, but I would like to teach myself to use it and have something I could take to interviews - I don't think it would take long to get up to speed but my question is, what aspects of the language should I look at learning quickly to get something on my CV?  I don't have any specific projects in mind but I was thinking that obviously getting used to data access would be a must?

Could some wise soul point me in the right direction?

cheers

surreal
Wednesday, May 28, 2003

Hmmm. I'm afraid there's a lot of "web developers" out there with your skills who were all laid off in the dot com crash and can't get any more work.

In the past, I've recommended Hardcore Visual Basic (online copy at http://www.mvps.org/vb/hardcore/ ). It doesn't have very much on databases, but I assume you know enough about stored procedures, triggers, normalisation etc from your experience with SQL. It does tell you how to do good OO design, and most importantly is an enjoyable read.

Start a programming project of your own. (A mate of mine who found himself in the same situation as you last year started writing a system to collect astronomy photographs and analyse movements of stars and planets). Improve your networking skills - I'd be very surprised if any agency took you on to a VB role if you have no commercial experience. (Sorry, but that's the truth).

Better Than Being Unemployed...
Wednesday, May 28, 2003

surreal,

I'd say the best thing to do is to get yourself certified.