Fog Creek Software
Discussion Board

Certification - Again

Given today's market....

Does certification add value? [Does it increase the chance of finding a job or getting more money]

As an experienced (or inexperienced) developer is it better to go JAVA , C++ or some other certification?

Windows, Unix/Linux, or both? [Is both realistic?]

Who to certify through? [MSCE, others?]

I have many years of experience but I don't know if certification would make a difference.  I may soon be looking to move on and want to prepare.

LookingForNewJob
Monday, May 19, 2003

Certification in the current state of the economy is not going to be much help.  However when hiring picks up again, it might just be the edge over somebody with the same experience and no certification.

There are two situations (in my experience) in which certifications do matter.

1) Consulting shops that are partners with the main software players, ie Microsoft, Oracle, Siebel, SAP, ad naseum.

2) Being an instructor for the above mentioned companies' technology.

In short, don't rely on certifications to "get a job." You'll be disappointed often. I'm getting certified in Oracle 9i, but I'm looking at it as a learning experience. I'm getting this certification to solidify my SQL knowledge, as I'm an application developer and not a DBA. I have been able to optimize SQL statements from what I've learned so far.

- Hector

Hector
Monday, May 19, 2003

My pet theory on this is: it depends....