Fog Creek Software
Discussion Board

How Many - COBOL Mainframe Programmers Under 30?

Does anyone have any resources like surveys or papers on how many developers under the age of 30 work on COBOL and the Mainframe?

1) Curious cause I graduated in '96 and my professors told me not to learn it. (Core was Pascal, C, LISP, Assembly)

2) My buddy's little brother is a Freshman and they are learning Java straight up totally ignoring COBOL & the mainframe.

GenX'er
Tuesday, May 13, 2003

In India?

thousands

Daniel Shchyokin
Tuesday, May 13, 2003

It's a little odd right now - there's a bubble of young COBOL programmers out there.

The reason for this was Y2K. Body shops found anybody who could breath, taught them enough COBOL to get by, and threw them at mainframe Y2K projects.

All these young COBOL-only people are now out of work and essentially unemployable.

Unless you're working specifically at a company doing new COBOL development, it's not a language worth spending much time on. Probably worth learning enough to be able to read it, but don't worry about writing it.

Chris Tavares
Tuesday, May 13, 2003

Chris wrote, "Unless you're working specifically at a company doing new COBOL development, it's not a language worth spending much time on. Probably worth learning enough to be able to read it, but don't worry about writing it."

There is much more to mainframe programming  than simply learning something about the COBOL programming language.

I use to write mainframe applications using COBOL and I hated it. That said, over the last five years I have received more phone calls from recruiters who are looking for someone who knows how to do mainframe development plus something on the PC side (i.e. Visual Basic) then all other recruiter type phone calls combined. Note: I always tell these recruiters that I am not interested because what they are really looking for is someone who is willing to do lots of maintenance programming.