Fog Creek Software
Discussion Board

Do You Drive?

Are you able to drive? If not, have you found that it's limited your career in any way?

Non Driver
Tuesday, May 13, 2003

how is this relevent?

GiorgioG
Tuesday, May 13, 2003

I don't drive. Rather than say it's limited me, I prefor to think it's helped me see possibilities I would not have thought of otherwise.

X. J. Scott
Tuesday, May 13, 2003

Giorgio,

I am assuming he is asking because he is facing the question 'Can I work as an engineer without driving'. The answer is yes.

X. J. Scott
Tuesday, May 13, 2003

You can do just about anything without having to drive in a big city....that's why I asked how this was really relevant...

GiorgioG
Tuesday, May 13, 2003

It really depends on your "drive"
If you have the motivation to walk/bike/masstransit where you need to go, then driving is not needed.
I have a friend that up until a few years ago, did not drive and rode his bike all over town to get where he needed to go and this was in a town with HORRIBLE masstransit, so it's really all up to you...

ZiggaDigga
Tuesday, May 13, 2003

I drive. I think its affect on you is largely related to where you're at and where you need to be. America doesn't have the greatest public transportation ;)

It seems to me that unless your real close to a good sized city (here at least), the public transit available will be spotty. Even back home in the suburbs of Chicago, the only real public transit you see in the suburbs is the train into the city: I haven't *ever* seen buses rolling around the residential areas I live in (although I must admit I've not paid much attention).

From what I hear, much of the rest of the world has good enough public transportation to make it feasible to not drive.

Mike Swieton
Tuesday, May 13, 2003

I got my licence at sixteen.

Now years later, I live in London. Do not own a car. Don't need to..

I get the tube to work. When I go out/drinking, I couldn't drive anyway, and so take a taxi.