Fog Creek Software
Discussion Board

The excel to access migration headache

Hi everyone,
If anyone can help me with this, it would be so so appreciated.
I have over 800 excel sheets that I want to import into an access database.
Here is a sample of one of them...
http://www.w-projects.net/PML-VL48010-1of6.xls
(File has been checked and is virus free)

Basically I just want to import all fields
from A-7 to 0-7,,,,as well as the two fields called Ref.DWG and DocuNo at the top right.(interestingly, they both seem to take up multiple columns but one cell). 
Anyway, is such an importation possible?. Your help on this would be very much appreciated, as it has had my mind in a twist  for the past 2 weeks. And I'm quite new to this data migration phenomenon. Thank you in advance.

Mark
Monday, May 12, 2003

Normally you just install the Access add-in and then go to data|convert to Access

This doesn't work in this case.

You best bet is probably to ask on Woody's Office Portal. The forums there are pretty good. http://www.wopr.com/

Stephen Jones
Monday, May 12, 2003

Might be able to write a VB app, connect to excel via odbc read the data then open your database and insert the data, plus what conversion is necessary inbetween reading and writing the data.

Monday, May 12, 2003

The first thing I can say is that you probably will get better answers in one of the many newsgroups for ms-access. (they are very active).

The second thing is that yes, it is not hard at all to import the data. I am sure in half an hour I could have a working import routine.

Having now said that you can import the data, the real question becomes into what type of data file you want to import to?