Fog Creek Software
Discussion Board

CS degree from home

Apologies, if this has been posted before. I didn't find much in the archive.

I am self-employed and consider this a good time to work towards an academic education. Since I still have some projects to work on, I plan to obtain a Bachelor's degree studying at home.

Any tips regarding universities that offer home courses? Is there also somebody, who has gotten a degree this way?

I already googled a little bit, but would like to get some first-hand experience.

Thanks a lot...

Basic Simon
Monday, May 12, 2003

Here in the UK I am studying with the Open University.  I think they offer international courses.

They also offer Masters degrees to those that have work experience rather than an undergraduage degree.  Thats what I'm studying and its a good course.

http://www.open.ac.uk

Ged Byrne
Monday, May 12, 2003

I don't know where you are but I'd recommend the Open University for the U.K. and Europe.

See http://www.open.ac.uk

John Topley
Monday, May 12, 2003

Sorry, Ged beat me to it!

John Topley
Monday, May 12, 2003

Man, you guys are quick.

Yes, I am currently in the UK, but that depends on where my job takes me to.

Thank you very much so far. I will definetely check it out.

Basic Simon
Monday, May 12, 2003

What's the value of a CS degree vs. reading various books about computing etc (and perhaps certification)?

Is the CS degree more theoretical and perhaps better long term, or is keeping abreast of current technology / best practices better in terms of enhancing ones skills?

Pete Robinson
Monday, May 12, 2003

A CS degree has one big value:  a lot of larger companies refuse to even consider a candidate unless they have a degree.

Of course, we all know that this isn't the best way to filter your applicants.  Unfortunately they do not.

Ged Byrne
Monday, May 12, 2003

Well, as for reading books... that's great, but it depends on what your goals are.