Fog Creek Software
Discussion Board

What should a cover letter say?

I am trying to write a good cover letter for my resume, but don't know exactly what to say?  I would like to ask those folks that actually read these things to give me their take on what I should and should put in a cover letter.

A normal cover letter of mine goes something like...

Dear SoandSo

As noted on my resume I have experience doing this and that and I graduated from such and such a college... blah.

Thanks for your time etc etc

Sincerely,

Soand So

( Please don't post links to sites with example cover letter.  I want the opinions of those that actually read them and what do they look for if anything.  You do read cover letters right? )

Pinky and the Brain
Friday, May 09, 2003

Lol.  Pinky and the Brain.  That was a good toon.  Pinky says, 'What are we going to do tonight Brain?.'  The Brain says, 'We are going to do what we do every night, Pinky.  Try and take over the world!'

No, seriously I would use the cover letter to convey some important points of information such as where you heard about the job,  a summary of your experience, maybe a link to your website if you have one.  Really I don't think cover letters are all 'that'.  Now if you write one that is totally misspelled and has poor grammar then you can prolly kiss the job good-bye.

JJ
Friday, May 09, 2003

When I read cover letters, I'm speciffically looking for the fact that you know what position you're looking at and how (specifically) you think your background matches what we need.

Besides helping me understand how you might fit, it also weeds out the people sending their resume to every company they can find.

RocketJeff
Friday, May 09, 2003

I agree with RocketJeff.

"I would be perfect for this position because I'm a brown-nosing yes-man and have been one all my life."

www.marktaw.com
Friday, May 09, 2003