Fog Creek Software
Discussion Board

From absolute zero to full CVS system in 2 hours..

Hi All,

After the recent discussions in the "Joel test in small businesses" thread, and the need to roll back my changes a few times in the past week, I decided to look into Source Control Systems.

I've had zero exposure to or experience with these systems previously. I understood their function and place, but just haven't used one yet. Tonight I decided to check them out and see what was involved in setting one up.

I looked into the options and reccomendations and decided on CVSNT and Tortoise. I have an all Windows network with various test machines, etc. and one primary dev machine. I am the sole developer on my projects (for now). I downloaded everything, installed them using the installation guides on the  respective sites, set up my modules, tested it, re-tested it, confirmed again that I understand how it'll work, and added the repository to my backup system all in just under two hours total. Actual setup (installation and configuration) took maybe 10 mins total for both.

There was some discussion on how long it really takes to set these systems up, and I'd say that my experience should be fairly typical.

Between this and my forthcoming transition to FogBugz from my under-used homegrown system, I just picked up another two full points on the Joel Test. Other than #11 (Candidates writing code), which hasn't been encountered yet, that makes for 100%. Now, all that's left to see is if the premise that the program has been designed to is valid, quality working conditions or not :)

Thanks to everyone for the suggestions and reccomendations on these topics.

--Josh

JWA
Wednesday, April 30, 2003

FWIW and just to be contrary <g>, after trying both Tortoise and WinCvs I decided for the latter ( http://www.wincvs.org/ ). It's not as restricted as Tortoise, and managing with files in a dedicated application seems more convenient to me than Tortoise's right-click method.