Fog Creek Software
Discussion Board

Precious

I've just been hired (1.5 months ago) for a new project by a large financial institution in New York. I am a contracted developer, have been for 14 years.

My role was to develop the software from nothing to finished.

I came in, did the business requirements with the business, did the design, wrote the functional spec and technical spec, finished it all in good time with excellant accolades from my employer, the build is now merely a formality (well not really, but to me it is).

Problem is, my boss came up to me yesterday and said they now want one of their people (permanent) to do the build, based on my spec. He has shown an eagerness to 'learn' and it's a great opportunity to get on board with an experienced professional (no bragging intended).
I am supposed to hand hold and teach him through the process. The person they have nominated has 1-2 years development experience, I have about 15. The thing is I don't feel like sharing my libraries or build techniques with this person, I've learned them the hard way over many years, and they are factored into my rate, as what they end up with is a piece of good software, by any industry standard. What is NOT factored into my rate is teaching somebody else all the stuff I've learned over the years. To put it more precisely, I am happy to 'help' and 'teach' but not to 'give' my code libraries away, they are full of good stuff.

Am I being to precious?

Realist
Tuesday, April 29, 2003

>I am happy to 'help' and 'teach' but not
>to 'give' my code libraries away

Er ... what?

It seems to me that you are saying this:

1) "I deliver shipping software, not source.  If I 'help' this guy learn how to build, he's going to see the source, and I do not want to do that."