Fog Creek Software
Discussion Board

getting re-motivated...

I've been lurking for ages on here, finally I have something to contribute (well, a question to ask anyway...)

I have been a web developer since 1997 (ASP / SQL), I had a great job for the first 4 years, loved every minute of it, learned almost everything I know now while there, put in long hours and worked my ass off.  Then, the company went into a downspiral like so many at the time and I left.  I went to a company where it transpired there was little actual work to do, and what there was was very, very  easy for someone with my background.  Soon I started to get out of the hard-work ethic and became more laid-back... spent far too much time surfing and not enough time coding, but because of the lack of things to do, no-one noticed...

Now I find myself unemployed cos of another company "restructuring", but with the possibility of a position at a very large company doing what I enjoyed most at the first job.  I have the skillset and experience they want, but I'm worried I won't be able to motivate myself back into a productive mindset, as during my few weeks at home I've been unable to motivate myself to do any coding or try to learn any new stuff...

Help, basically... anyone ever been in this position?  How did you get the flow back?  I really want to love my job as I did before, but if I can't even get motivated during this down time it's making me nervous and I'm losing confidence in my abilities.

surreal
Friday, April 25, 2003

There's a world of difference between having to "manufacture" work for yourself in your own time and having real work to do on an employer's time. Nobody can be motivated and productive 24/7 - it's not healthy. You've suddenly had a lot of time on your hands recently and it's only natural that you've started to question your own abilities. When you're at work, you don't generally have time to do that - you just get on with it.