Fog Creek Software
Discussion Board

Experience

How important is experience for coding? How much better is 10 years than 2 years, 20 years than 10 years? Does it just depend on the person?
There are 2 old programmers where I work who must have a lot of experience, in terms of years, but who are not respected. One isn't any good (I've heard) and the other hasn't learned anything new since the 60s.
I have about 8 years of experience now and I think I'm much better than I was at 2 years or at 5 years. I feel that I constantly improve. But maybe that's just an illusion. On the other hand I don't have quite the level of enthusiasm I had at the beginning. But it's made up for, I think, by being better organized and just knowing a lot more.

The Real PC
Tuesday, April 22, 2003

It really depends on the person.

There are people with 10 years of experience.

And there are people with 1 year of experience 10 times.

I've met both. It's fairly easy in this business to just get in a run and do the same thing, the same way, over and over, and failing the same way, over and over, and just not caring.

Chris Tavares
Tuesday, April 22, 2003

Unfortunately, experience is often an "HR filter", like degree, that does not clearly or accurately relate to how well the person can do the job at hand.

Brad Wilson (dotnetguy.techieswithcats.com)
Tuesday, April 22, 2003

Dave, the best of luck. People like you deserve to be doing well and I hope you do.

I think the future for enterprising programmers now will be to create your own useful things and market them directly, skipping the period of working for other companies.

That seems to be one effect of the changes we've seen.

Tuesday, April 22, 2003

The Real PC wrote, "How important is experience for coding?"