Fog Creek Software
Discussion Board

When is a spreadsheet not enough?

This is strictly a hypothetical question that I was curious about, and this forum seemed to be about the most diverse place I could think to post.  I wish to preface this by saying that I'm not trying to preach in favor of any language or dialect, any recounting of facts is simply how I went about doing it.

I was tinkering around, for fun, one day, trying to understand how to translate numbers into dates and then back into numbers.  For example: July 12, 2003 is the 193rd day of the year.  Granted, I know there are libraries out there to do this, but it was fun and I'm a coder... I'd hope people here would understand. :)  So, I got this to work in an Excel spreadsheet(1) after a bit of kludging, and decided I wanted to see how well it would translate over to CLISP.  My thinking at the time was that the syntax of Lisp was sort of familiar to standard spreadsheet calculation functions.  I did it(2), and it worked.  In doing it, though, I realized that while I could do this in Excel functions, doing it in CLISP made it much more powerful and I could ultimately expand it to calculate numbers in the thousands, figuring out (for a small example, starting in 2003) that the 366th day is actually January 1, 2004.

So, I'm curious, when does someone's spreadsheet, the individual Lotus or Excel file not the application itself, reach the point that it warrants becoming its own application?  Do things like spreadsheets ever reach this point?  Has VBA eliminated this threshhold or pushed it back any?

This is a very hypothetical question, and I offer apologies if it's too cartoonish.  Thanks.

Andrew Burton
Monday, April 21, 2003

I forgot to post my footnote links.

1: http://www.darkbeast.com/files/daycount.xls

2: http://www.darkbeast.com/files/dates.lisp.txt

Andrew Burton
Monday, April 21, 2003