Fog Creek Software
Discussion Board

Managing

You often hear that developing software can be fun, but I never heard anyone say that being a manage can be fun.
Is it just that I haven't heard it? What are the motivations for becoming a manager, other than having a private office and better salary?
I'm reading the book Peopleware which says the only time people actual do the work of software development is in the first 2 or 5 years of their career. After that, they are managers. Is that true, in general?
I don't want to become a manager, but I would like to become more independent. In other words, I would like to be my own project manager, sort of. I don't feel a need to be managed (does anyone?). Also, my manager's responsibilities were just increased greatly and I feel this is my chance to start making more of my own decisions, since he won't have much time.

The Real PC
Saturday, April 19, 2003

No, I don't think that's true. I've been coding for 10 years now. You will hit a salary plateau as a senior engineer, and as long as you're happy there and good at what you do, nobody's going to come down to your office and drag you kicking and screaming into a management position. :)

Brad Wilson (dotnetguy.techieswithcats.com)
Saturday, April 19, 2003

Now I realize I didn't express myself well at all, and was trying to combine several vague questions into one.
I've been thinking about my manager's promotion and how it might change things, and meanwhile have been reading Peopleware (some if it makes sense to me and some of it doesn't, and most of it is plain common sense).