Fog Creek Software
Discussion Board

Does contributing code to open source pay off

For those of you that work on open source software- does contributing to open source projects help your consulting business/job search? If so does it pay of because managers say- wow he contributes to open source he must be good or because companies seek you out for your expertise in the area you contributed to?

Daniel Shchyokin
Thursday, April 17, 2003

As a consultant I believe it does help. However, it will not always be equated to industry work.  For example, I help test OpenOffice [http://www.openoffice.org].  I take it through my day using it for as much as I can and reporting any problems I find. 

When I put this on my CV/Resume, it falls under experience.  For some reason, it has been useful in opening conversations.  Then I can express concepts not directly related to coding itself.  Things like remote support of applications, development with diverse workgroups and effective communication with global entities and finally teamwork.

Some people may consider this "fluff" but the market over the past 20 years has changed in subtle ways too.  Now, it is how well do you work on a team?  How do you relate to others you have not met?  How well do you work with people in differing timezones, and cultures?  Hard to gain that experience just "anywhere." 

I would not join an OSS project just for the experience.  But if that is what you need to motivate you, come on down.  Please however, treat it as a commitment.  Others will not agree, but I think if you commit to a certain number of hours a week, month, year, whatever, you get more out of it.