Fog Creek Software
Discussion Board

vagaries of GRE for cs grad school?

First time I gave GRE  Verbal -540 Quant -730
now it's Verbal -490 and quant -790
Should I report the second score? Also just got my 3rd reject from grad school and am really wandering if my 3.52 gpa is enough to get in.

Sumit
Thursday, April 17, 2003

Submit both.

Keep applying.

Eclectic Echidna
Thursday, April 17, 2003

Sumit,

It's not upto you, ETS will report all scores for the past 5 years.

Prakash S
Thursday, April 17, 2003

Where is your undergrad degree from and what did you major in?

Pavel Levin
Friday, April 18, 2003

I don't even think GRE's are a big deciding factor for most schools.  I believe the letters of recommendation have a much higher weight along with the GPA.

I'm surprised that with a 3.52 GPA you didn't get accepted anywhere. What schools were they? Are these highly selective, top 10 schools (CMU, MIT, etc) or middle tier schools?

Nick
Friday, April 18, 2003

I graduated from Dalhousie University in Canada with a BS in cs in 2001, this year I applied to -

WRIGHT STATE UNIVERSITY ,NJIT(spring) AND FIT(spring) in US and
Dal,York,Queens,Simon Fraser, and Manitoba in Canada.
Rejected by Queens,Simon Fraser and Manitoba.Waiting on the others, but getting rather jittery.

Sumit
Friday, April 18, 2003

this is the pattern I have noticed:

lot of ppl who have been laid off join the MS/ PhD program, not to mention the ppl who already have a PhD who join as profs (thess guys are laid off too) , they get the ppl who work under them as grad students to whichever school they go to/

Applicants to grad school have gone up considerably, wouldn't be suprised if you are competing against 2500 others for a spot in NJIT...

all the luck..

Prakash S
Friday, April 18, 2003

you MUST get FEEDBACK!

ASK the schools what you can do to IMPROVE your application.

Adcoms will tell you why you didn't make the cut.

Friday, April 18, 2003