Fog Creek Software
Discussion Board

Is it a joke ? IBM Office in J2EE!

See http://www.crn.com/Components/printArticle.asp?ArticleID=41198

mentionned in
http://www.theserverside.com/home/thread.jsp?thread_id=18854

I don't see the link between J2EE and a client desktop suite.

Robert chevallier
Wednesday, April 16, 2003

By concentrating on J2EE IBM are missing out on one real gem they have - Lotusscript.

Lotus Script is almost identical to VB6.  I've cut and pasted VB6 code and it runs with hardly any alteration - even with API calls.

I'd says its a lot easier to port VB6 application to Lotusscript than to VB.net.

Instead they go back to eSuite.  doh.

Ged Byrne

Ged,

Lotusscript is anything but a gem.  In fact it's some of the worst crap I've seen in a long time.  (I'm a notes developer.)  If you disagree, you're a glutton for punishment - which is fine, most notes developers I know, are ;-)

Lotusscript is not cross-platform (on the client, since the Notes client is only available on the Win32 platform) for one, a major issue for IBM as it continues to push Linux in the enterprise.

The development tools available for Lotusscript are 2nd rate (except maybe in the R6 version, it's finally got features that VS97 had (Autocomplete, etc.))  The problem is, most large corporations won't migrate to R6 for at least 2-3 years, so at the moment, the crummy R5 IDE is all you got, and it's barely better than notepad.

>I'd says its a lot easier to port VB6 application to Lotusscript than to VB.net.

Try writing an app that has a master/detail form with unlimited number of detail rows.  It is not intuitive and not well suited to Lotus Notes.  You would need to create response documents for each row to the master document, but then you lose your in place editing ability by not having the row fields in the master document and you can't add new UI elements/fields on the fly to the best of my knowledge.  In other words, 10x easier in a .NET form and a datagrid.