Fog Creek Software
Discussion Board

Is it Really that hard to find work?

I see all these posts about people who have been out of work for months and months at a time, some even thinking about taking working for outrageously low salaries. 
  I'm by no means a phenomenal developer, I have some solid experience, i'd like to think i'm mildly talented, but I know I have a long way to go before i'm senior level.  Yet,  if I lost my current job, (which pays me well even for part time) I could think of a number of places where I could do work for around 20 an hour.  Is it really that hard to find programming jobs for even 15-20 an hour?  What is the problem??? 

Vincent Marquez
Wednesday, April 16, 2003

See this article from last week's _New York Times Magazine_:

http://www.nytimes.com/2003/04/13/magazine/13UNEMPLOYED.html

Here's an excerpt:

==============

Jeff [Einstein] is not your typical Gap salesman.

When his shift ends, we relocate to a nearby bar, and Jeff tells me the story of landing the job.  The Gap was gearing up for the Christmas onslaught near the end of last year, and he was summoned for a group interview. "There were about 20 people in the room," Jeff recalls, "and each one of us had to introduce ourselves and talk about our most recent position.  There was a cashier from McDonald's, a woman who had worked at Baby Gap, a ticket collector from Loews, a gift wrapper from Barnes & Noble.  Then it came to me.  I said I used to be an executive vice president and a director of interactive marketing for Rapp Digital, a digital media company with 300 employees and a P. and L. of $40 million."

==============

Myself, for the past four months, I've been working at the local Humane Society, where I feed the dogs and clean their kennels.  I now have health insurance, though, and I consider myself lucky in some respects.

Alex Chernavsky

I think it totally depends on where you live / work.

What area are you speaking about Vincent Marquez?