Fog Creek Software
Discussion Board

Job offer

I have been jobless in the states for around 7 months, I did a phone interview with a company in the states, having their development offices in India.The position is in India, and the pay is in rupees.I think the job is a quality one, the only thing is,any savings I make won't be of much value when I come back to states, it's mostly the experience.
What would others do in my situation? I have never worked in India before.

Sanjit
Tuesday, April 15, 2003

All else being equal, take it for the experience of seeing more of the world.    Even if you come back without any more money, you'll have the experience, and you'll have seen India.  :)

PS:  Hopefully they'll fly you out there, etc.

aa
Tuesday, April 15, 2003

unfortunately not

Sanjit
Tuesday, April 15, 2003

Yeah, if the experience is good, or if you think your current living situation becomes untenable, then go for it.

Also, consider what it will be like re-entering the job market in your current location once you've been doing this for a while. How easy will it be?

www.marktaw.com
Tuesday, April 15, 2003

Be careful.

If they're not serious enough to fly you out, they're probably not serious enough to honour commitments or do the right thing if there's a problem when you get there.

Taka
Tuesday, April 15, 2003

They are paying weeks expenses before I can find a place there

Sanjit
Tuesday, April 15, 2003

>>> They are paying weeks expenses before I can find a place there

I really hope you forgot to include (a really big) number before "weeks" and don't mean that they are paying only *one* weeks expenses!

Taka
Tuesday, April 15, 2003

If they're not willing to pay for you to fly there, that's a pretty bad sign, I think.  It means they have *no commitment* at all to making it work.  They offer a job, and if it doesn't work, they lose nothing while you lose everything.  If they pay to fly you out there, they won't do it so lightly.  Be careful.

aa