Fog Creek Software
Discussion Board

Net 30 argument - check my logic?

Okay, I'm working for BigITCo, which has a contract with the government agency I'm working at. I'm an independent contractor.

BigITCo's payment methodology:
1) I fax my timesheet to them.
2) They fax my timesheet *back* to me, with an approved signature. This used to take 24 hours, lately it's been days.
3) I then take that faxed timesheet, prepare an invoice, and mail it to their accounts payable office.
4) Their accounts payable office "processes" it, then puts it in their system.
5) My check is cut the first check processing day *after* the 30th day after the payment was entered in the system.

I fully recognize the concept of "float" and I'm sure this was put in place because some beancounter did the math and told an executive "for every day you can postpone paying every contractor, we earn eight bajillion dollars in interest"

The problem is that I cannot wait to find a job that won't wait six weeks to pay me. In retrospect, the worst place I ever worked (atmosphere wise) paid me upon receipt of the invoice, and I'd rather work there than here.

I figure since I'm here and have no emotional investment, I'm going to keep railing against the system. My latest thought:

1) Based on $50/hr and 6% return, they earn $40/month per contractor on float.
2) *Every* contractor here gripes about the pay situation. Two have left solely because of the pay situation.
3) If just one contractor leaves because of pay, that's $8000/month lost income for BigITCo (based on a billing rate of $100/hr).
4) It will take 200 contractors' float to make up for the lost income from that one departure.  This does not take into account lost referrals or lost business due to unhappiness with BigITCo.