Fog Creek Software
Discussion Board

How many products can you handle ?

Just curious to know how many products can a typical developer handle. What I mean by handle is to design,develop,debug and support applications. The number of customers can vary from 1 to around 50 per product. Some products have multiple versions too. I had been doing this for the past 3 years for around 5 products + doing lot of R&D.

Sunish
Tuesday, April 01, 2003

Millions upon millions of people use my software. A team of multi-talented experts organizes the interaction between customers and developors. Without them I will puke foam running around in circles gobbling.

Li-fan Chen
Tuesday, April 01, 2003

No seriously though, most senior architects can swim in at most 2 major major size projects, and maybe ponder and manage innumerable tiny ones. It depends on the code monkeys he manages. The more organized you are at archiving your projects in a way you can come back to the more you can handle I think.

Li-fan Chen
Tuesday, April 01, 2003

Anyone who thinks in terms of "managing code monkeys" will fail at even one project. At least if that is truly the mindset, rather than just an ill-conceived quick joke...

sgf
Tuesday, April 01, 2003

One at a time.

Steve Barbour
Tuesday, April 01, 2003

I guess the number of products a developer can handle depends on the complexity of the program. Of course if there are a lot of bugs or errors in the product, you are looking at a nightmare scenario.

The industry / environment that your software operates also plays a big part..in some fields, most people can solve basic problems that they face and in others it is the opposite.

Just my 2 cents.

suhu
Wednesday, April 02, 2003

Sorry, I personally handle three products at the moment. Nothing complicated, just some business apps.

Thanks

suhu

What Steve said.