Fog Creek Software
Discussion Board

Discuss: Win9x/MacOS makes users dumb/scared?

I read an interesting comment recently:

"Stick a complete newbie, who has never used a computer before, or not enough to get used to one, in front of a Linux box, with some instructions. Watch them do great. Now stick a fairly experience Windows user in front of a Linux box, with even better instructions. Watch them flounder miserably."

The basic argument is that using Win9x and MacOS makes users dumb, and causing them to be petrified when trying to install something (even with good directions) via any method other than the "Click next" wizards.

dh003i
Friday, March 28, 2003

Kinda math skills and calculator/computer use.

Real life situation:
My fiance's dad runs a storage unit property.
Two college educated girls (from an expensive college north of Charlotte, NC) walk in to rent a unit for 2 months at $35/month; $70 total.

They requested a calculator to figure out how much each owed....

argh!!!

"How can someone be so stupid and still be able to breathe?"

apw
Friday, March 28, 2003

I'd guess that the opposite would be true also - a Linux/Unix/etc user would be lost when confronted by Windows/MacOS, even with good instructions.

I actually have met real-life examples of this - guys who are excelent Unix & VMS programmers/admins/users but who just can't seem to get the habg of how to do *anything* with Windows.

It's all a matter of getting used to doing things one (the 'proper') way and not beaing able to/wanting to adapt to something new. I really doubt if Windows kills brain cells...

RocketJeff
Friday, March 28, 2003

Imagine if on your calculator there were a button that, if you pressed it under certain circumstances (which you were never too clear on), would make your calculator stop working or return erratic results unless you took it to an expert to have it reconfigured.

People would be just as scared to use their calculators as they are to fiddle with their OSes.