Fog Creek Software
Discussion Board

Software Engineers are Professionals

I keep seeing this mentioned in this and other forums that Software Engineering is not a Profession because the government doesn't regulate it or because of this or that reason.

I imagine poor neurotic Engineers wringing their hands at these periodic proclamations "Oh Dear! Oh My! I am not a Professional then!"

First of all, a degree is a certificate and anyone with an engineering or CS degree is certainly certified. Some certificates are more prestigious than others of course. But what does that matter? Certification has little to do with being a professional.

Professional  pro. - "1. A person following a profession."
Profession n. - "An occupation or vocation requiring training in the liberal arts or the sciences and advanced study in a specialized field."

So -- HTML coders? NOT professionals. VLSI designers? Professionals. Javascript monkeys? Probably not professionals. DSP algorithm designers? Professionals. OOA/D/P and Patterns gurus? Professionals.

So, most of us are professionals. Advanced study is certainly needed for most engineering work. And yes, some can be self-taught, can train themselves from a book or such, but that doesn't change the fact that there was advanced training involved.

So let's hear no more of these silly attacks on our professionalism, whether used for puerile name-calling, or to ride on some political certification agenda that has nothing to do with professionalism and everything to do with the politics of power.

Certification in particular is no guarantee of competance at all -- look at the mess of the profession of teaching. There are some good teachers among the ranks of the certified, but most of them in the United States are egregiously incompetant, otherwise the high rates of language and math illiteracy we see would not be possible.

X. J. Scott
Monday, June 17, 2002

Brilliantly stated X. J. Scott

J.W.
Tuesday, June 18, 2002