Fog Creek Software
Discussion Board

Re-using code

For some reason I'm not good at finding and using code written by others. I'm good at re-using my own, because I understand it and I like it and I know where to find it. I don't like searching and deciphering documentation and trying to figure out how to use something. My manager keeps telling me not to re-invent the wheel (even if I already invented it years ago). Even if it's something simple, he thinks I should first find out if it already exists.
I know he's probably right. But exactly how important is it to use other people's code, and how much time and effort does it save, in general? Should you ALWAYS look for existing stuff first, or only if it would be time-consuming to write it yourself?

PC
Thursday, June 13, 2002

aye, there's the rub . . .

Shakespeare
Thursday, June 13, 2002

Despite popular folk wisdom, the wheel has been re-invented many times over the ages. 

Imagine using an ox-cart wheel on your car.

Reuse has benefits, as well as disadvantages... as you point out, search time for something suitable is one of the disadvantages.

On one of my projects, I counted no less than 25 different unique functions for triming unused blank padding from a character string. 

Apparently our search patience is pretty thin.

Joe AA.
Thursday, June 13, 2002

That why component based software binary specification,
was invented. e.g. COM etc....

One need only understand the exposed interface ;-).

If the component doesn't serve your purpose, you either
buy another or create your own.

Simply concept actually

Looking Over Your Shoulder
Thursday, June 13, 2002

I agree looking... hope you don't mind me using your first name.

If we could all just understand everything that is (painly obviously of course) "exposed", then there would be no search time... we would just automagically "understand".