Fog Creek Software
Discussion Board

Moshe Bar is giving up programming ... too old

I thought the whole age thing only effected 2nd rate hacks such as myself.  I thought uber-programmers would ride off into the sunset, coding happily all the way.  I really respect this guy.  He has the PhD to back up all of that real-world experience (or vice-versa, if you prefer). 

"I am studying law because at my age I already see how much faster younger programmers are than me. Back when I was in my early twenties nobody could beat me at programming. Nowadays, when I sit next to people like Andrea Arcangeli, I realize that programming, too, (even considering the advantage of experience) is for the young. Perhapes extreme programming, ie good quality, high speed programming, should be considered a sport and not an art or science or a skill. Since, I do not see myself being a programmer at 60 years (which is more than years from now), I deduced that I have to find a new job between then and now.  Law is something that really goes well with progressing age. "

http://interviews.slashdot.org/interviews/02/06/07/1255227.shtml?tid=156

I know this isn't indicative of anything in particular and doesn't prove any points one way or the other, I just thought it was kind of sad.

Johnny Simmson
Friday, June 07, 2002

"I know this isn't indicative of anything in particular and doesn't prove any points one way or the other, I just thought it was kind of sad."

Well it's just the way it is. Can't expect Michael Jordan to play as good as he was when he's about 40. But, on the other hand, as a person gain more experience and $, he or she should not be doing coding. Instead, he can be a consultant, an invester, system engineer, technical management, tc..

Sam Wong
Friday, June 07, 2002