Fog Creek Software
Discussion Board

Becoming a developer 4 years late

I humbly seek the wisdom of the forum:

I would really like to get a job developing software - ideally, web development of some kind.

I don't have a computer science degree (although I have a degree in a fairly technical subject). I have worked in non-programmer software-related jobs (usability, testing) and picked up basic knowledge of a few languages (PHP, Python, ASP, even a bit of Java). Last year I made the mistake of taking a lucrative job in a company that sucked - I was supposed to be testing stuff that was developed without comprehensible specs in a very slapdash environment. In trying to do the right thing I got fired over a "personality clash".

I really feel that if I was given a junior web developer position, I could do as well as some of the programmers I have worked with. But lacking commercial experience and qualifications, I'm not qualified for anything I've seen advertised.

What is my best course of action?
I can get free server space for a friend - should I build a free web service to show what I can do?
Should I get into debt to get formal qualifications of some kind?

Ben H
Thursday, May 30, 2002

I should say that I have been working for about 2 years after an aborted postgraduate degree.

Ben H
Thursday, May 30, 2002