Fog Creek Software
Discussion Board

What on earth does a unit test do?

I've only recently looked at XP in any depth and I feel that I must be incredibly stupid - I simply don't understand it! I studied electronics and computer science in the late seventies, since when I've mainly worked as a mathematician/statistician in the telecoms world. I write a lot of code (these days largely VB, VBA and the occasional bout of C) and I have a fair number of regular users but I've never followed any particular methodology. As in, I very rarely plan anything, just get stuck into the code. I've downloaded the test framework for VB and - well, I'm buggered if I can understand what the hell is going on. I mean what exactly_is_a unit test?? I've spent (wasted?) hours of work time reading the XP sites and trying to get my head round it. Am I simply too old? Or am I in fact just very stupid?

Graeme Henderson
Tuesday, May 21, 2002

A unit test is a way to ensure that your code does what you want it to do.

If you have a function that calculates insterest, you write a unit test that provides the input for the funcrtion, and checks that the interest calculated is correct for a known value.

You do this informally when you setp through code or when you run your program and check that it does the right thing on the screen

The advantage here is that the thing you checked for last week gets checked when you run your unit test this week.  You don't have to remeber to do it.

adam
Tuesday, May 21, 2002

Assumption:  A developer tests code against a preceived set of criteria before declaring the work to be "done".

So, the code written around the developed code constitues the unit test.  Sometimes (often) the code cannot be tested alone and may be dependent on an external environment:  properly initialized hardware, a running server supporting the proper interfaces, or other software within the system being up and running.