Fog Creek Software
Discussion Board

Shrink-wrap Development

I’ve been developing shrink-wrap software for a little of 6 years now. In that time I’ve come to learn the true meaning of being “alone in a crowded room”. There are thousands and thousands of developers out there. However, if I manage to meet more than one shrink-wrap software developer in a year, it’s a miracle.

This fact alone makes development of shrink-wrapped software one of the most difficult tasks in the software industry. We lack any true source of information, assistance, or community. When most developers have a problem, they post a question to a newsgroup and quickly receive an answer. When I post a question to a newsgroup I’ll be lucky if anyone even understands the question, let alone have an answer.

One good example came up recently. We are investigating changing the database we use for out flagship application. The current system we use has some very convoluted (and expensive) licensing issues. It seemed obvious that taking a look at Microsoft SQL Server (really, the free MSDE product) would be worth some time.

We had a number of questions that came up (how do we handle schema changes, how can we automate deployment, etc) that are never asked in the internal development sector. All of the documentation and all of the books available are only geared to the internal developers (or occasionally the web developers). The problem is, I don’t care how John Hancock or BMI handles a schema change, I care how Intuit handles a schema change.

What I would like to see is a shrink-wrap software community. A place (website) where developers that work on shrink-wrapped software packages can share experience, ideas, and solutions. While someone rightly pointed out that only 10% of the industry fall into this category, it is still a heck of a lot of people….

And Joel, yet again you hit the nail on the head. So far you are the only one I’ve found that writes worth while articles for us shrink-geeks.