Fog Creek Software
Discussion Board

Who owns consultants code?

Something I have never been sure about is who owns the intellectual property of code that is developed for a client during consulting?

Is it the client or the consultant?

Matthew Lock
Tuesday, May 07, 2002

By default, the work is a "work for hire" which means it is owned by the client. But you can structure the contract any way you want.

Joel Spolsky
Tuesday, May 07, 2002

I'm living in Germany and I'm studying Informatik (pretty much what CS is for the USA). What I don't understand is, why can consultants (which I understand to be developers or advisors who are contracted for a specific task) charge such incredible amounts of money? How do they get in such a position? Can't anybody just say "Well, I'm my own company now, I'll still work for you but you better increase my salary 3x."? I'm sure it's not that easy, so please could someone explain it to me? Are those people so ultra-hot, do they possess such arcane knowledge nobody else could do what they do? I'd like to know, you know, I can still choose what to specialize on =)

Sebastian Wagner
Tuesday, May 07, 2002

Over time, consulting developers acquire substantial expertise in their vertical fields, which translates to more robust code, better features and more reliable delivery.

For this reason, consulting development firms generally seek to own the intellectual property in their work, both to protect their own future and to avoid making it easy for competitors.

If the client has some reason for wanting the intellectual property, they might pay extra for particular parts, or they might pay substantial sums to get the whole lot.

Hugh Wells
Tuesday, May 07, 2002

Some reasons consultants charge more per hour than regular employees are:

- they usually have to fix work for free if it is faulty
- they don't receive any normal entitlements such as superannuation payments, sick leave or holiday pay from the client