Fog Creek Software
Discussion Board

Balancing Work and School

I've been working as a computer programmer for a few years; for a number of reasons I chose to pursue a career instead of an education. Recently, I've been questioning my decision. A degree is something that I value very highly, and it is my goal to eventually attain one.

At the current time, I have a fairly good, fairly stable job, and I am thinking it would be possible to leverage this, especially financially. Some options I've considered would be:
- night or weekend classes
- shifting job to part-time
- quitting work altogether and attending school

I am quite young, without substantial amounts of savings.

BWAS
Monday, April 22, 2002

Whoops, forgot to ask my question. Has anybody had success doing this? Does anybody have any advice?

Thanks a lot.

BWAS
Monday, April 22, 2002

Not sure if I can offer any advice, but I had a similar experience.

I had enough of school after three years pursuing a BS in CS. I had a summer internship, and they were happy to have me, so I just kept on working there after the summer ended. I did that full time for about a year. The next year I started taking classes part time at a local University to finish my degree. That took me another two years.

Overall I'm glad I did it this way. It turned out to be a good career move to have the work experience, and I actually enjoyed my classes without the pressure of a full class schedule. The only downside was that classes require constant attention. Teachers aren't generally sympathetic if you have a release in 15 days and you don't have time to do your homework.

JD
Monday, April 22, 2002