Fog Creek Software
Discussion Board

coding for worst cases?

I've been fleshing out some algorthms for use in a project, and something interesting came up: How much code do I write to handle worst-case cases? I have a situation which should happen very infrequently. The problem is that should this condition ever arise, it's possible for performance to decrease exponentially.

What do you guys usually do when faced with this? How much time do you spend writing infrastructure to handle a problem that 95% of your users will never need solved?

Mike Swieton
Tuesday, November 06, 2001

I'm not a developer, well no more than any other system admin anyway, but I would say that the question is how bad is your "worst case" here?

Does the program slow down under this condition? Then it should be fixed but its maybe not your first, or even your fifth priority imho.

Does it cause a crash? If its unreasonable to expect your program to work at all under certain conditions, it should at least handle this problem gracefully. At the very least, it shouldn't hang my workstation/server or hose my data.

Robert Moir

Well here's my situation: I'm storing filenames in a database, and right now it's the question of integer identifiers. In theory, it's possible to have 2^32 unique entries. But if I just start the first id at 0 and increment, removed entries could, in theory, leave a lot of space unused and still report as full. If I randomly generate the id, if the database is more than 1/2 full, then the performance there would begin to drop off quickly.

These situations are unlikely, but what if it arose? It's quite possible. I don't think I'll really deal with it, but it was an interesting question: when you have a case whre the performance would drop exponentially (say a sort dropping to O(n^2)) but the case is rare, how do you deal with it? What if dealing with it now would take a lot of time to get the perfect system, but doing it later if needed would be worse?

Mike Swieton