Fog Creek Software
Discussion Board

what about us liberal arts majors

All the talke I've seen here has focused on CS degrees vs no degree, what about people who have a degree, just not in computer science?

I have been working for about 5 years now,
I know database theory,data structures several languages all that good stuff but never really delved into some of the more fundamental topics like os and compiler theory (and have never really needed it since I work mostly with DB's, J2EE, VB etc ...)

I am currently employed and believe I will stay employed in the near future, but hypthetically lets say I found myself looking for a job as an application developer- would it really be held against me that I do not have a CS degree even though I have a four year degree, and all the skills of a four year degree?

Daniel Shchyokin
Friday, April 19, 2002

One factor that's overlooked in the discussion about degrees is that software development requires intense learning skills. More than any other profession.

A requirement to have a 4-year CS degree can actually rule out the best learners - those with a degree in another field who have successfully mastered new disciplines. Someone like that will easily ride the new waves of the future.

I've worked with excellent CS people and excellent non CS people.

Hugh Wells
Friday, April 19, 2002

Few of the programmers where I work have degrees in computer science.  I hold degrees in literature and philosophy.  And I've worked with programmers who have degrees in literature, linguistics, philosophy, music, psychology, history, and so forth.