Fog Creek Software
Discussion Board

difficulty learning object orientated techniques

Hi,

I am coding a web site in ASP.NET and VB.NET and I can already see the VB code becoming a bit spaghetti.

I am also trying to get a firm grasp of object orientated programming but I only have time to learn during the evenings. (no training available at work).

I am also the only programmer at my company so I do not have anyone else to learn from or bounce ideas off.

Perhaps I am being to hard on myself.

I know what object orientation is but I still having problems thinking in an object orientated way.

I have been a procedural programmer for the last 15 years and it is very hard to shake of the procedural approach having used basic, Foxpro, xbase++ and clipper.

How do others balance the learning side with having to code during the day and also how to force myself to start thinking objects?

Mike Grace
Thursday, March 28, 2002

this will be vague or brief, i gotta catch the train,,,,thought id throw in my 2 cents,,something better than nothing...More when I can give better examples and clearer thougts...

--
If you find yourself copying code anywhere, then you're doing something wrong.  Also, review the basic principals,  and see if they apply to your code.....

polymorphism, -  Does anything take as parameters 2 different objects, yet call similar methods on them?  if so, slap an interface on them as pass in the type interface, as opposed to 2 methods that take the specific object types.

interfaces , again a way to have different objects have the same method, so they can be referenced by the interface name, not their specific class name,

overloading, a method that takes various combinations of parameters...usuually, these will call each other, with various defaults added into the methods that have fewer params....constructors are a good example of this..