Fog Creek Software
Discussion Board

Code Complete and Industry

I am a CS student and I am reading CC right now.  Everything so far seems every educational, except annoying Pascal Code ( I like C++ better).

I like to know how relevant is the book in real life situation?  As I am doing my internship for a company which none of CC suggestions applies, I am begginning to think it is now more academic.  Should I apply CC stuffs when I am coding for the school assignments, although most of the assignments are garbage once the course is over.

How many software companies really follow CC guidelines anyway?

Ray
Monday, March 25, 2002

Ray,

Welcome to the Joel on Software Forum... Mwa ha ha!.

Seriously though, a lot of the folks here have excellent real-life experience and are good at seperating wheat from chaff. You should listen to them.

I have nothing else helpful to add to this thread. =)

Mark W
Monday, March 25, 2002

It is useful for all sorts of coding jobs.  But maybe it is better to read after you've been coding a while.  After all, what matters now are tactical things like algorithms and translating the problem-space into sane structures.

Despite all the texts on the subject, many companies simply don't follow the simplest precepts of software eng.  Some vaguely realize that a CVS-type system is useful, but consider it "short term overhead."  Stone-age people.

BTW, I thought of Code Complete as anything but academic.  Purely pragmatic.

Greg Neumann
Monday, March 25, 2002

Code Complete is an AWESOME book. You should definitely read and apply it to your own work. Even if it feels like "overengineering" for your school projects, it is still a great way to build good habits before its too late.  ;-)

When you say that none of the Code Complete suggestions apply to your current internship, do you mean that the company has crappy code? Or that the type of project is not mentioned in the book?