Fog Creek Software
Discussion Board

What makes you a programmer

In http://www.joelonsoftware.com/articles/fog0000000006.html , Joel talks about his computer science class, where suddenly almost everybody dropped out when they started talking about pointers. "For some reason, some people just do not seem to be able to write code with pointers in it. They were born without the part of the brain that does indirection, I guess."

So, I work as an instructor for a web-training company, and wanted to know if anybody else knows what hes getting at here.

Its something I see a lot. We get students who are really smart and organized, and then all of a sudden, something mysteriously doesnt connect for them, and they are unable to advance in our program.

What do you think programmers have in their brains that regular people dont have or cant access?

Tim Boucher
Monday, March 11, 2002

I think good programmers are able to suspend belief and/or judgement temporarily. They might not 'get' pointers at first, but they're willing to play along, listen to the instructor, see what he's using them for, and then revisit the original concept with a bit more context.

Pointers are not hard to understand, but I think most people are scared and intimidated when they're first introduced. It's usually the first abstract concept they come across in a programming course, and there isn't always a clear need for them presented. Their brain just shuts down and they can't get beyond that point.

Darren Collins
Monday, March 11, 2002

Good question.  I've found that even the simplest tasks are beyond me, however I consider myself to be an above average programmer.  For example, my girlfriend has to sort our clothes on laundry day because I find the seven different classifications of clothing to be too difficult to remember, but I am able to hand write JNI header files from memory.  Go figure.

wyoming johnson
Monday, March 11, 2002

I can think of a couple of possibilities.