Fog Creek Software
Discussion Board

To design or not to design

I just read Joels new article

http://www.joelonsoftware.com/articles/NothingIsSimple.html

and started on reflecting how (and if) I design. I must admit that I have very little expereince using UML or other graphical ways of modelling like ER-diagrams. When I had to use them, for university, say, or because some manager wanted us to do so, I found them clumsy and artificial and they never really let me put down the things I found most important about my design. My reluctancy to design before I started coding came mostly from that fact.

When I read about Xtreme Programming, one of the things I liked best was the idea to design via sourcecode. The idea is NOT to code without thinking first. The idea is rather, to put your thoughts down in a language that is easy to use and comprehensive to you as a programmer. As a C++ programmer, to me that is: design your classes by writing the public class definition, the interface if you want. Design your functions by writing the function header and the brackets and then fill the body with TODO comments.

If you have to talk about the design to non-programmers, they will need a little help understanding what you are doing, but it is my impression that they will need the same help understanding UML diagrams. With a little explanation everyone can understand class headers and comments written in plain English (or what ever is your commenting language). To make it easier to understand interaction between classes, print out your headers and arrange them on a whiteboars, draw arrows from one to the other.