Fog Creek Software
Discussion Board

Salary Comparisons

Interested in discovering what the pay is like in the USA.  Just as an example, I have 5 years experience as a VB programmer, mostly on small projects for the first 4 years, and on Enterprise level apps for the last year.  Within our team of 5 I am a "standard" developer ie. I have responsibility for "my" areas of the system, but do not have any real input into system architecture or design.

I would be interested in knowing what people in a similar position in the USA are making, and what sort of standard of living that gives you ... ?

My salary is £28K p/a (c. $40k).  I also get free fully comp health cover for me and my whole family, my employer matches my pension contributions, and a share option scheme that I can choose to pay into. 

Matt
Tuesday, March 05, 2002

Salaries in the USA vary widely by geography. A programmer in a major city (like New York, San Francisco or Boston) will often get paid a lot more than a programmer in a rural area or small city, but will also have a significantly higher cost of living.

For an accurate comparison, you should pick one or two US cities that resemble your home city in the UK and look at the average salaries in those places. Also, consider the impact of taxes when you do the comparison.

Beth Linker
Tuesday, March 05, 2002

UK Taxes account for 28-30% of my salary

Matt
Tuesday, March 05, 2002

http://careerlink.devx.com/articles/ss1100/ss1100-2.asp

2 years out of date-but is VB-focused sort of.  lots of charts.

razib khan
Tuesday, March 05, 2002

Have a play with salary.com -- Pick some locations and the job description that matches your skillset best, and see what the kids are getting paid.