Fog Creek Software
Discussion Board

Making (design) decisions

I am working as freelance Java and PHP programmer from home(31 years old). I have a masters in CS and code software for a living for 1 1/2 year now. Often I run into
problems on design decisions or which tools/libraries I should use. Sometimes I dont even know how to start a software project. I am doing fine on smaller less complex projects. But bigger projects or complex systems give me a headache (Ok, programming is not rocket science). May be I am missing some experience ? Or is it just "some people dont get it" ? I really want to become a better architect and programmer (time is ticking).

So these questions are basically for other freelancers. How do you make decisions on software when you dont have other people around you that are more experienced. I personally try to use newsgroups, read books (Pragmatic Programmer, Design Patterns, Code Complete, etc.), try to ask questions on IRC in specific channel like #java or #php and surf the web (www.javaworld.com, etc). But I think that's not the same as working in a company with experienced people and it is very very time consuming. What are your strategies ? Have you started a user group so you can discuss technologies with other people ? Are you joining conferences about programming ?
Thoughts ?

Kai

Kai
Thursday, February 28, 2002

> I personally try to use [...] But I think that's not the same as working in a company with experienced people and it is very very time consuming.

I did just the same as you (Compuserve, in those days) working in a company without experienced people: and it too was very very time consuming.

So IMO you have a good strategy already; get experience.

> I am doing fine on smaller less complex projects. But bigger projects or complex systems give me a headache

A headache is a medical problem.