Fog Creek Software
Discussion Board

working efficiently..

This is basic skill question. How do you juggle among multiple tasks? handle distractions? switch contexts quickly?
I have been working for six years and still not happy with my working style.. am a more of seqential, heads-down guy.

working_smart
Thursday, February 21, 2002

If you are working on a number of complex projects, I find keeping a work log and lots of design/architecture notes a great help. The design notes should relate to a specific part of a project, so that when you need to go back and modify it, you can pick up where you left off very quickly.

TODO (+ other notated) comments in the source code, using your source control software's features to keep track of changes also help.

But there is no getting away from the fact that switching between projects (especially if they are complex and in different languages) is expensive. You should try to minimize the need to switch as much as possible. Plan your work so that you are making batches of changes to a single project, as much as possible.

Hope this has been of some help.

Kenshi
Thursday, February 21, 2002

whenever I work on multiple tasks simultaneously, first & most important point is I never work on a single task for a day or a period more than a day continueously. This is because I have a habit of concentrating on the current task completely ( which most of the buddies have :-)) so You tend to forget the important points from other tasks. Ofcourse , this depends on one's ability to remember the tasks completely, But I think, If you have two tasks its better to work half day for one task & half day for another task.

secondly , as one of the fellow person suggested, I keep TODO list file in the source directory, where I store the important sub tasks to be done ..