Fog Creek Software
Discussion Board

Certification/Licensing for programmers

I graduated with a computer science degree in 1999. When I was graduating I thought it odd that my friends in Engineering had to take a certification exam (much like the BOARD exam for lawyers or Clinical exams for doctors/pharmacists/etc) and I did not.

After graduating I went straight to contracting since I had already been contracting during college and did not like the idea of 9-5 M-F. The money was good, the market was good, there was tons of work available. The funny thing was I would be working with other programmers that had NO formal training in Computer Science. I worked with people that had backgrounds in Chemistry, English, Military, Medical, you name it, they are out there. And most of the time their code reflected the lack of training. I am not saying all, but MOST of the people without formal training did not structure their code properly, and turned out bug-ridden software that was sloppy and slow.

I know the market was in need of programmers, but a lot of these people had no business writing software. I was not complaining though, because I was making a killing cleaning up their mess. But I couldn't help wonder why these people were hired in the first place. Here are some of my thoughts:

1) Poor interviewing (see The Joel Test)
2) Immediate need for "warm bodies"
3) No formal system for ranking skill levels.

Lets look at item 3. Yes there are tests to rate you in one area or another. But  if there were a system in place where ALL programmers were  tested after exiting College, and were licensed to practice, wouldn't this go a long way in setting new standards in software?  I know this is where Oracle, Microsoft and everyone else is making a lot of money with "Certification" test and books, but I don't think this is enough.